25 Jan 2018

Allegany Franciscan Ministries Board Announcement


PALM HARBOR, FL, Allegany Franciscan Ministries is pleased to announce the appointment of Howard Watts as Chairperson of the board of directors, Emery Ivery as Vice Chairperson, and Sr. Joan Dawson, OSF has been appointed as Secretary. In addition, Laura Plotner, Trevor Banks and Sr. Nancy Chiarello, OSF have been elected to the board of directors; their terms started January 1, 2018.


Howard Watts                                                                    Emery Ivery                                                             Sr. Joan Dawson

The Allegany Franciscan Ministries board of directors is responsible for governing the affairs of the organization, stewarding its resources, establishing its policies and programs, and approving grants and other investments to community organizations.

“Allegany Franciscan Ministries is privileged to benefit from the leadership of these individuals on our board,” said Eileen Coogan, Allegany Franciscan Ministries’ president and CEO. “All have demonstrated their dedication and commitment to our ministry and meeting the needs of those who are marginalized and underserved in our communities.”

Mr. Watts has more than 30 years’ experience as a senior healthcare executive, was executive vice president at Catholic Health East, served as interim CEO for several hospitals and health systems, and has been a member of the Allegany Franciscan Ministries board of directors since 2011.

Mr. Ivery is the Tampa Bay Area President for United Way Suncoast and joined the board of directors in 2015 after serving on Allegany Franciscan Ministries’ Tampa Bay Regional Commission since 2009; he currently serves on the Wimauma Council for the Common Good. Sr. Joan Dawson joined the board of directors in 2013, served on Allegany Franciscan Ministries’ Palm Beach Regional Commission from 2005 – 2015, and now serves on the Palm Beach Grants Committee. Ms. Plotner served on Allegany Franciscan Ministries’ Tampa Bay Regional Commission from 2012 – 2015 and has been on the Tampa Bay Grants Committee since 2015. She brings extensive financial knowledge and expertise, and will chair the Stewardship Committee. Trevor Banks has served on the Lincoln Park Council for the Common Good since 2015 and has a keen understanding of the community. His vision is to afford youth the opportunity to realize their goals. Sr. Nancy Chiarello’s passion for those who are marginalized resulted in her being identified by the Franciscan Sisters of Allegany as a top candidate to represent the congregation on the Allegany board.

About Allegany Franciscan Ministries, Inc.
Allegany Franciscan Ministries is rooted in the tradition and vision of the Franciscan Sisters of Allegany, providing grants and working with community partners in three regions of Florida formerly served by the Sisters’ hospitals: Miami-Dade County, Palm Beach, Martin and St. Lucie Counties, and the Tampa Bay area of Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties. Celebrating its 20th anniversary this year, Allegany Franciscan Ministries has invested $87.5 million to almost 1500 organizations serving those most in need in these communities. In addition to awarding grants, its staff and volunteers work collaboratively with community partners and other funders to create healthier, safer, and more connected communities where the most vulnerable residents can live, learn, work and play. A part of Trinity Health, its mission is to serve together in the spirit of the Gospel as a compassionate and transforming healing presence within communities served. For more information, please visit Allegany Franciscan Ministries’ website at www.afmfl.org.


For more information contact:
Allegany Franciscan Ministries
Lise Landry Alives
llandryalives@afmfl.org, 727-507-9668